The 2nd year of the BIG Idea Competition was a BIG success with 137 entries involving 182 high school students from 16 schools! The BIG Idea Committee would like to congratulate this year’s winners who received over $4,000 in cash and scholarships.

BIG Idea 2008 Finalists & Sponsors:
SEATED: Dominic Wollman, Brooke Feickert, Jessica Waltman, and Mitchell Aman.

STANDING: Brenda Merkel, Janet Wetz, Elizabeth Manning, Lauren Weaver, Aaron Mehlhoff, Erica Grieben, Tom Kulesa, Dillon Karlen, Deb Esser, Dylan Streckfuss, and Mike Iseman ,

First Place

CheapSeats is a movie theater providing quality movies to the people of Aberdeen for less money.Mitchell Aman of Aberdeen Christian School

Second Place:

Paws & Claws
Paws & Claws is an animal clinic providing services needed for animals. Jessica Waltman of Leola High School

Third Place:

Splish Splash Car Wash
Splish Splash Car Wash provides car services such as washes, vacuum stations and etc.Brooke Feickert of Leola High School

Other Finalists

Elizabeth’s Bakery & Candy Shoppe
Elizabeth’s Bakery & Candy Shoppe is a bakery providing homemade sweets and treats .

Elizabeth Manning of Redfield High School

K&S Custom Combining
K&S Custom Combining is a combining service used in the areas.

Dylan Strechfuss and Dillon Karlen of Warner High School

Mehlhoff Seeds
Mehlhoff Seeds is a service providing farmers with top of the line seed services.

Aaron Mehlhoff of Leola High School

Smalltown Tutors
Smalltown Tutors is providing services to students of any age that need help with homework and studies.

Lauren Weaver and Erica Grieben of Roncalli High School

Up on the House Top Roofing Service
Up on the House Top Roofing Service is providing their services to those needing roofing repairs done.

Dominic Wollman of Leola High School

Special Thanks

A Special Thanks to the teachers who encouraged their students’ participation.

Thanks to the committee members and community leaders who participated as judges, panelists and supporters.

The next competition will open again on September 1, 2009.