2010 Winners

The 4th annual BIG Idea Competition was a BIG success with 148 entries involving 204 high school students from 18 schools! The BIG Idea Committee and Absolutely! Aberdeen would like to congratulate this year’s winners who received over $4,500 in cash and scholarships:

2010 Winners and Sponsors

Dr. Bill Broucek, NSU; Kelly Weaver, BIG Idea Committee; Tory Mason, Michelle Schwiedop, Cody Palmquist, Taylor Hanson, Alex Boekelheide, McKinley Livermont, Troy McQuillen, McQuillen Creative Group; and JoEllen Lindner, Presentation College.
Photo by: Dawn Sahli Photography

First Place:
C & T Bin Cleaning
Cody Palmquist and Tory Mason of Doland High School
Second Place:
Boekelheide Trucking
Alex Boekelheide of Northwestern High School
Third Place:
Love, Sweet Love
Taylor Hanson and McKinley Livermont of Aberdeen Roncalli High School

Other Finalists

Team ‘Trition
Mary Martin of Mobridge-Pollock High School
Kallas Hunting & Fishing Guides
Douglas Kallas of Leola High School
Artistic Accessories
Madison Hahler of Northwestern High School
Perfect Pools
Laken Frericks of Northwestern High School
A&M Drive-In Theatre
Alex Johnson and Megan Yada of Aberdeen Central High School

See the 2010 Finalist Concept Overviews Click Here

BIG Idea 2010 Competition Awards Presentation:

Winner of the Marketing Design competition, sponsored by McQuillen Creative Group, was:

First Place:
Michelle Schwiedop of Wessington Springs High School

Special Thanks

A Special Thanks to the teachers who encouraged their students’ participation.

Thanks to the committee members and community leaders who participated as judges, panelists and supporters.

Next year’s competition will open again on September 1, 2011.